Skip to main content

Formal Awards

Although everyone contributes to the NMSU mission, there are individuals that have gone above and beyond to support the institution and the community. In order to recognize these extraordinary contributions, there are formal awards the campus community can choose from to nominate employees. Award recipients are selected by committees from a pool of nominations in the categories of faculty and exempt and non-exempt staff. 

Are you interested in setting up an award for your department, college, or divisions? The ARA program is a resource for all interested in developing their own programs to complement the system-wide awards. 

Ralph B. Crouch Memorial Award


Friends and family of the late Dr. Ralph B. Crouch have established an endowment providing for an award to honor a living, current or former employee of NMSU for outstanding contributions to the life of the university community. The recognition includes a cash award, and eligibility alternates annually between non-exempt staff and faculty/exempt staff. The award is given out during the spring semester.

Criteria : Nominees must be a current, or living, former employee of New Mexico State University. Depending on the award cycle, the selection will be limited to non-exempt staff or faculty and exempt staff.  

Consideration will be based solely on the person’s outstanding contribution(s). These contributions may include any activities WITHIN THE UNIVERSITY and can range from one event to a lifetime career. Outstanding contributions are considered those action(s) or activities  beyond  the normal day-to-day responsibilities of the person’s job. These activities can be, but are not limited to, committee work, participation in special university projects, sponsoring student groups, activities in professional organizations, etc.  

Guidelines: Send nomination forms, with no more than five (5) pages of supporting information and no more than three (3) letters of reference to the Center for Learning and Professional Development no later than the date indicated on the form.  


Call for nominations is currently closed.

Stephen W. and Robert E. Roberts Memorial Staff Award

Portrait of Monica Lury 

Monica Lury
2022 Stephen W. and Robert E. Roberts
Memorial Staff Award Recipient

Established in 1983, an annual cash award is provided from the Stephen W. and Robert E. Roberts Memorial Endowment fund in recognition of dedicated, outstanding service to the university. The Employee Council selects the award recipient during the fall semester, and the award eligibility alternates annually from exempt to non-exempt staff. 

Visit the Awards tab on the NMSU Employee Council website to learn more about the award, selection criteria, and nomination timeline. 


Call for nominations is currently closed.